People on the Move

by Chris Shreve

Brenda Mallory is the new general counsel for the White House Council on Environmental Quality. Mallory had previously held several leadership positions at the EPA, most recently as acting general counsel.

In March, President Obama nominated Dr. Monica C. Regalbuto as assistant secretary for environmental management at the DOE, where she is currently the deputy assistant secretary for fuel cycle technologies in the Office of Nuclear Energy. If confirmed, Regalbuto will oversee the department’s nuclear cleanup program.

The Senate voted to approve Neil Kornze as director of the Bureau of Land Management, a position he has held on an acting basis for more than a year. Retired Army Lieutenant General Frank Klotz was also confirmed by the Senate as the DOE’s new undersecretary for nuclear security.

The new chairman of the Senate Committee on Finance, Ron Wyden (D-OR), has announced his leadership team. Several staffers followed Wyden from the Energy and Natural Resources (ENR) Committee, including Staff Director Joshua Sheinkman, who held the same position on the ENR Committee; Chief Investigator David Berick, a former investigator on the House Government Operations Committee and the Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee; and Keith Chu, who joins the new communications team as spokesman, with a focus on energy, natural resources, and trade. Other staffers with energy ties include Chief Counsel Mike Evans, formerly of the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works, and Sarah Bittleman, the new legislative director and chief counsel for energy, natural resources, and agriculture, who previously served as agriculture counselor to the EPA administrator.

Wyden’s replacement as chair of the ENR Committee, Senator Mary Landrieu (D-LA), has also been busy building her team. Longtime staffer Liz Craddock will serve as staff director, the committee’s top post. She will join the established ENR leadership team of Sam Fowler, Daniel Adamson, and David Brooks. Landrieu also tapped Louisiana natives Herman “Bubba” Gesser (general counsel), and Elizabeth Weiner (senior professional staff ). Current staffers Caroline Bruckner and David Gillers will also serve the committee in senior roles.

House Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Fred Upton (R-MI) has announced a series of staff changes. Paul Nagle takes over as chief counsel for the Commerce, Manufacturing, and Trade Subcommittee; Sean Hayes has been named deputy chief counsel for the Oversight and Investigations Subcommittee; and Charlotte Baker is the new deputy communications director.

The New York State Energy Research and Development Authority has named David Margalit to the position of chief operating officer. A former senior advisor to New York City mayor Michael Bloomberg, Margalit will support the state’s efforts to expand its clean energy economy.

NY Green Bank has selected two energy finance experts to serve in senior positions. Caroline Angoorly will be chief operating officer for operations; and Nicholas P. Whitcombe, most recently a senior investment officer at the DOE, will provide senior-level investment portfolio management.

David W. Cash is the new commissioner of the Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection. Cash previously served as commissioner at the Massachusetts Department of Public Utilities, and before that as undersecretary for policy in the Massachusetts Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs.

Another Bay Stater, Kenneth L. Kimmell, has been named the new president of the Union of Concerned Scientists, a nonprofit dedicated to independent scientific research and analysis. Kimmell, who has spent much of his career practicing environmental law, will leave his post as commissioner of the Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection to take the job in early May.

Effective June 1, Jenae Bjelland will replace Tim Warfield as the executive director of the National Association for State Community Services Programs (NASCSP). Bjelland brings 15 years of experience in antipoverty policy and energy efficiency at the local, state, and national levels, most recently as NASCSP’s director of healthy homes.